The BBCCC is a private voluntary movement – cooperative movement – one of the first three cooperatives registered under R.A. No. 2023, the non-agricultural cooperative law. The BBCCC was organized by 15 teachers of Saint Louis University (then a College) as the Baguio Teachers Credit Union, Inc. on October 11, 1958. It was registered with the Cooperatives Administration Office (CAO) on December 23, 1958.

The Baguio Teachers Credit Union, Inc. amended its by-laws and name on December 10, 1976. It adopted its present name, Baguio-Benguet Community Credit Cooperative Inc. to accommodate and serve the community of Baguio and Benguet.  From its humble beginnings in 1958, the BBCCC has shown spectacular success which is recognized and emulated. It has been a consistent awardee for achievement in Region 1 and in the Cordilleras. In 1985 and in 1992, it was adjudged as the Most Outstanding Credit Cooperative (Community Type) in the entire Philippines.

In November, 2003, BBCCC, as a community-based type of coop, has been awarded as number one nationwide in terms of net worth or in terms of members’ investment in their  cooperative. It has shown the capability of the cooperative movement as an instrument of self-reliance, self-government and self-sufficiency.

Leave a Comment